BCL: Dijon, Limoges and Pau directly qualified for the regular season, Strasbourg in qualifying

Dijon, Limoges and possibly Pau will participate in the regular Basketball Champions League season. Strasbourg will have to go through the qualifications.

More than 70 teams have applied for a place in the 2022-23 Basketball Champions League season, and 52 of them have been upgraded as participants by the BCL board of directors which met on Thursday, June 23 . The club list includes 18 current national champions.

Additionally, seven national finalists were also selected, and of the 52 teams selected for the regular season and qualifying rounds, a total of 35 reached at least the semi-finals of their respective national championship.

The competition also continues to expand across the continent. Teams from 29 European countries will take part in the 2022-23 season, covering all regions of Europe.

The 2022-23 BCL will begin with the qualifying rounds on September 21, with 24 teams hoping to make the final four in contention. They will join the 28 teams already qualified.

The regular season kicks off on October 4 and the format remains basic, with 32 teams split into eight groups of four, with the group winners advancing directly to the Round of 16, while the second- and third-placed teams will face off in the series. Play-In in January 2023. The top 8 teams from the Round of 16 play best of three Quarter-Final series in April, the season ends with a Final Four in May.

The full range is as follows:

Regular season (in alphabetical order):
AEK (GRE), Bahcesehir College (TUR), BAXI Manresa (ESP), Bnei Herzliya (ISR), Darussafaka (TUR), Dinamo Banco di Sardegna Sassari (ITA), ERA Nymburk (CZE), Filou Oostende (BEL), Galatasaray Nef (TUR), Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (ISR), Hapoel Holon (ISR), Hungarian champion (Egis Kormend or Falco Szombathely), Igokea m:tel (BIH), JDA Dijon Bourgogne (FRA), Legia Warszawa (POL), Lenovo Tenerife (ESP), Limoges CSP (FRA), MHP Riesen Ludwigsburg (GER), PAOK mateco (GRE), Pau-Lacq-Orthez (FRA) * Peristeri (GRE), Pinar Karsiyaka (TUR), Rytas Vilnius (LTU), Surne Bilbao (ESP), Telekom Baskets Bonn (GER), UCAM Murcia (ESP), Unahotels Reggio Emilia (ITA), VEF Riga (LAT).

* In the event that Pau-Lacq-Orthez does not obtain the license to participate in Betclic Elite next season, it will be replaced by SIG Strasbourg in the regular season. In this case, TFT Skopje will participate in the qualifying rounds.

Qualifying rounds (in alphabetical order):
Bakken Bears (DEN), Brose Bamberg (GER), Budivelnyk (UKR), CSO Voluntari (ROU), FMP Meridian (SRB), Friborg Olympic (SUI), Golden Eagle Ylli (KOS), Heroes Den Bosch (NED), vice -champion of Hungary (Egis Kormend or Falco Szombathely), Karhu Kauhajoki (FIN), Keravnos (CYP), Leicester Riders (GBR), NINERS Chemnitz (GER), Norrkoping Dolphins (SWE), Opava (CZE), Parnu Sadam (EST ), Patrioti Levice (SVK), Rio Breogan (ESP), Siauliai (LTU), SIG Strasbourg (FRA), SL Benfica (POR), Swans Gmunden (AUT), Tofas Bursa (TUR), Unicaja (ESP).

A first draw for the qualifying rounds and the regular season phase will take place at the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball on Thursday, July 7. The ceremony can be followed live on championsleague.basketball from 11:00 a.m. (GMT+2).

As ASVEL and Monaco will be in the Euroleague, and Bourg (11th in the regular season) and Paris (15th) in the Eurocup, we can notice the absence of European cups from Boulogne-Levallois (3rd) and Cholet (8th).

Photo: Nicolas Lang (Limoges CSP, Jacques Cormarèche)

Read also… (and these are NOT ads)

Leave a Comment