Billy Vunipola with the XV de la Rose for the tour in Australia

England manager Eddie Jones recalled Saracens player Billy Vunipola to his 36-man squad for the July tour of Australia on Monday.

Injuries to Alex Dombrandt and Sam Simmonds will see powerful 29-year-old third center Billy Vunipola make his first international appearance since last year’s Six Nations Championship. England, crushed Sunday by the British Barbarians (52-21), left for Australia on Tuesday before their first match against the Wallabies on July 2 in Perth. Including Vunipola, born in Australia, Jones was selected 12 players from the two English Championship finalists, Leicester and Saracens. He has also brought in eight uncapped players as well as youngsters Henry Arundell and Will Joseph, who will take part in training.

See also : in video, the demonstration of the “French” Barbarians against England

Ten players are sidelined through injury, including Leicester flyhalf George Ford, who was injured early in the Premiership final at Twickenham, won by Leicester (15-12) on Saturday. “Although we have ten players unavailable due to injury, we have chosen a very solid group capable of winning the series”said the coach. “This team is a real mix of talented young players and very experienced senior players and we are looking forward to bringing the group together. This tour will be a great experience for the band and a crucial part of the team’s work towards the Rugby World Cup in 2023.”added Eddie Jones.

The English selection for the tour in Australia:

Rears: Henry Arundell (London Irish), Danny Care (Harlequins), Joe Cokanasiga (Bath), Fraser Dingwall (Northampton), Owen Farrell (Saracens), Tommy Freeman (Northampton), George Furbank (Northampton), Will Joseph (London Irish), Joe Marchant (Harlequins), Jonny May (Gloucester), Jack Nowell (Exeter), Guy Porter (Leicester), Harry Randall (Bristol), Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester), Marcus Smith (Harlequins), Freddie Steward (Leicester).

Advantage : Ollie Chessum (Leicester), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter), Tom Curry (Sale), Charlie Ewels (Bath), Ellis Genge (Leicester), Jamie George (Saracens), Joe Heyes (Leicester), Jonny Hill (Exeter), Nick Isiekwe (Saracens), Maro Itoje (Saracens), Courtney Lawes (Northampton), Lewis Ludlam (Northampton), Bevan Rodd (Sale), Patrick Schickerling (Exeter), Will Stuart (Bath), Sam Underhill (Bath), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Jack Walker (Harlequins), Jack Willis (Wasps).


Leave a Comment