Canada scores a double at the World Ball Hockey Championships

Canada won the men’s portion of the 2022 World Ball Hockey Championships with a 6-3 win over the Czech Republic in Monday night’s final at Place Bell.

This allows the Canadians to end a 15-year drought and obtain a sixth title since the creation of this competition.

After a scoreless first period, the Canadians scored twice in less than a minute. Josh Anderson scored first by taking a throwback from Jean-Philippe Moquin, then Jeffrey Bradley doubled the lead with a good shot into the top of the net on a drive-in from area.

Trevor Mainman then accepted a pass from Noah Lemos on a one-man run to put Canada up 3-0.

Goalkeeper Christian Lantin also showed up a few times in this middle period to keep the Canadian lead. However, he could not do anything on Tomáš Fejfar’s goal scored on the power play in the last minute of this engagement.

Fejfar scored his second of the game early in the third period to put pressure on Canada, but Jean-Philippe Trudeau immediately offered the cue to allow his team to regain a two-goal lead.

The Czech striker, however, was not satisfied. He completed his hat trick, allowing his team to believe it a little longer.

Karl Léveillé, however, put an end to the debate by scoring an important but with five minutes to go. The defense didn’t concede anything to the Czechs afterwards and captain Nelson Vargas Dias completed the scoring in an empty net.

After the match, the organizers announced the recipients of the tournament’s individual prizes. Christian Lantin was chosen goalkeeper par excellence, while Bill Marshall was chosen best defender. Danick Martel a meanwhile winning the competition’s most valuable player and leading scorer titles. Forward Karl Léveillé also earned a spot on the all-star team.

The Canadians retain their title

Earlier in the evening, Canada’s women’s squad completed a comeback to claim a 3-2 win over the Czech Republic to claim a second sequential world championship.

The Czechs took an early lead in this game with Karolína Kosinová and Michaela Krásová each scoring within the first five minutes of play.

However, Canada had not said its last word. Reagan Fischer and Shae-Lynn Clarke scored back-to-back midfield to tie the two teams.

(Photo courtesy – ISBHF)

The tension was thus palpable in the third period. Both teams got a few scoring chances and the fans of both teams exchanged cheers.

The Czech Republic opened the door to their opponents in the latter part of this period by giving a double advantage to the Canadian representatives. These did not ask for so much and prayed the lead for the first time in the match on a goal from Kristen Cooze. The Maple Leaf then held onto their lead for the rest of the game to claim the title.

After the match, Canadian Carol Ann Upshall was chosen as the tournament’s most valuable player. Corie Jacobson was voted best defender. Two other Canadians ended up on the all-star team instead, namely goaltender Julianna Thompson and defender Kristen Cooze.

Note that this is the sixth gold medal in eight occasions for Canada since the introduction of the women’s section in 2007.

Leave a Comment