European Professional Club Rugby | Pool draws for the 2022/2023 season

The event will start at 13:00 (French time) by the draw for the EPCR Challenge Cup, followed by the draw for the Champions Cup at 13:25 about. Both draws will be streamed live on

For the Champions Cup draw, the 24 qualifying clubs, including South Africa’s Stormers, Bulls and Sharks taking part in the tournament for the first time, are divided into four pots according to their TOP 14 ranking, Gallagher Premiership and URC, before being split into two pools of 12 clubs, Pool A and Pool B. Clubs in the same league that are in the same pot could not not be drawn in the same pool. (See list of qualified clubs and hats below).

Clubs ranked 1uh and 2e of each championship are part of hat 1, the clubs ranked 3e and 4e are part of pot 2, clubs ranked 5e and 6e are part of hat 3 and clubs ranked 7e and 8e are part of hat 4.

The clubs from hat 1 and hat 4 which would have been drawn in the same pool but which are not from the same league will face each other in home and away matches during four days of the group stage, as will the clubs of hat 2 and hat 3 in the same pool but which are not from the same championship.

For example the Stormers, who won the URC Grand Final last weekend, are in Pot 1 and depending on the draw they will face ASM Clermont Auvergne or Lyon and Exeter Chiefs or London Irish which are in hat 4.

In the same way the Leicester Tigers, winners of the Premiership final, are also in pot 1 and they will face ASM Clermont Auvergne or Lyon as well as the Ospreys or Edinburgh Rugby in pot 4.

As for the TOP 14 semi-finalists, Union Bordeaux-Bègles and Stade Toulousain, they are in pot 2 and will play against Gloucester Rugby or Sale Sharks depending on the draw, and against Durban Sharks or Munster Rugby which are in hat 3.

The EPCR Challenge Cup pool draw will create two 10-club pools (Pool A and Pool B) from the 20 participating clubs, including the Johannesburg Lions and the Bloemfontein Cheetahs, which are split into three . Clubs from the same league cannot not compete in the group stage. (See list of qualified clubs and hats below).

Clubs ranked 1uh and 2e from URC, TOP 14 and Premiership are part of Pot 1. Clubs ranked 3e and 4e of each championship, as well as the 5 clubse and 6e from URC are part of hat 2. Finally, the Dragons, Zebre Parma, USAP, Aviron Bayonnais, Bath Rugby and the Cheetahs are in hat 3.

The Pot 1 clubs and the Pot 3 clubs which will be in the same group by draw, but which are not from the same league, will play against each other in home and away matches over four weeks – end of the group stage.

Pot 2 clubs that have been drawn in the same pool, but are not from the same league, play each other home and away during the group stage. To avoid having matches between two clubs of the same championship, the TOP 14 clubs of Pot 2 could only face clubs from URC. Similarly, Premiership clubs in Hat 2 could only play clubs from URC.

For example, in Pot 2, the Lions play Stade Français Paris or CA Brive depending on the draw, and Worcester Warriors or Newcastle Falcons.

Following the two draws, EPCR will begin to establish the match schedules for the two tournaments and the dates, times, venues and broadcasters of the matches will be announced as soon as possible.

The 2022/2023 season will be spread over eight weekends, including four group stage days from December. The knockout phase will consist of round of 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals and the finals at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin will take place on 19 and 20 May 2023.


TOP 14 : Castres Olympique, Montpellier Hérault Rugby, 3) Union Bordeaux-Bègles, 4) Stade Toulousain, 5) Stade Rochelais, 6) Racing 92, 7) ASM Clermont Auvergne, 8) Lyon
Premiership : 1) Leicester Tigers, 2) Saracens, 3) Harlequins, 4) Northampton Saints, 5) Gloucester Rugby, 6) Sale Sharks, 7) Exeter Chiefs, 8) London Irish
united rugby league 1) Stormers, 2) Bulls, 3) Leinster Rugby, 4) Ulster Rugby, 5) Sharks, 6) Munster Rugby, 7) Edinburgh Rugby, 8) Ospreys

Composition of the hats for the Champions Cup draw

Hat 1: Castres Olympique, Montpellier Hérault Rugby, Leicester Tigers, Saracens, Stormers, Bulls
Hat 2: Union Bordeaux-Bègles, Stade Toulousain, Harlequins, Northampton Saints, Leinster Rugby, Ulster Rugby
Hat 3: Stade Rochelais, Racing 92, Gloucester Rugby, Sale Sharks, Sharks, Munster Rugby
Hat 4: ASM Clermont Auvergne, Lyon, Exeter Chiefs, London Irish, Edinburgh Rugby, Ospreys


united rugby league : 1) Glasgow Warriors, 2) Scarlets, 3) Connacht Rugby, 4) Lions, 5) Benetton Rugby, 6) Cardiff Rugby, 7) Dragons, 8) Zebre Parma
TOP 14 : 1) RC Toulon, 2) Section Paloise, 3) Stade Français Paris, 4) CA Brive, 5) USAP, 6) Aviron Bayonnais
Premiership : 1) Wasps, 2) Bristol Bears, 3) Worcester Warriors, 4) Newcastle Falcons, 5) Bath Rugby
invitations : Cheetahs

Composition of the pots for the draw of the EPCR Challenge Cup

Hat 1 : Glasgow Warriors, Scarlets, RC Toulon, Section Paloise, Wasps, Bristol Bears
Hat 2 : Connacht Rugby, Lions, Benetton Rugby, Cardiff Rugby, Stade Français Paris, CA Brive, Worcester Warriors, Newcastle Falcons
Hat 3 : Dragons, Zebra Parma, USAP, Aviron Bayonnais, Bath Rugby, Cheetahs

Leave a Comment