News – Auston Matthews, big winner of the NHL Awards

National Hockey League

NHL Awards

Auston Matthews added two awards to his collection on Tuesday, winning the Hart Trophy and the Ted Lindsay Award. It was the first time in 67 years that a Maple Leafs player received NHL Most Valuable Player honors and the first time a Toronto player was named the League’s Most Outstanding Player.

For the first time in 35 years, the winners of the calder trophy (Moritz Seider21 years old), from hart trophy (Matthew, 24), from norris trophy (Cale Makar23 years old), from Ted Lindsay Award (Matthews, 24) and Vezina trophy (Igor Shesterkin26) were all aged 26 or younger.

Two trophies for Matthews

the attacker Auston Matthews of the Maple Leafs won the hart trophy and the Ted Lindsay Award as the NHL Regular Season Most Valuable Player, as voted by the PHWA and NHLPA, respectively.

  • Matthews became the third player in franchise history to win the hart trophy and the first in 67 years, after Ted Kennedy (1954-55) and Baby Pratt (1943-44). Matthews became the first Toronto player to receive the Ted Lindsay Award. It adds to a collection of trophies that also includes back-to-back wins from the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy (2020/21 and 2021/22).

Makar, best defender in the League

Enjoying a break from his record playoff run, the Avalanche defenseman Cale Makar won the James Norris Memorial Trophy, awarded annually “to the defensive player who has demonstrated throughout the season the greatest skill in this position”. Makar became the first Norris Trophy winner in Avalanche/Nordiques history and adds the honor to his collection of NHL awards which already includes a Calder Memorial Trophy win in 2019/20.

First Vezina for Shesterkin

Rangers goalkeeper Igor Shesterkin moved back Vezina trophy, designated “to the goaltender of but judged the best in his position”, as selected by the general managers of the NHL. Shesterkin, who was a first-time finalist, became the third Rangers goalkeeper to win the award under current selection criteria (since 1981-82), after Henrik Lundqvist (2011/12) and Jean Vanbiesbrouck (1985/86).

Seider, rookie of the year

Red Wings defenseman Moritz Seider won the Calder Trophy Memorial, awarded annually “to the player selected as the most proficient in their first year of competition”. Seider became the sixth winner of the calder trophy in franchise history and the first since goalie Roger Crozier (1964/65), 57 years ago.

Leave a Comment