News – NHL – We will soon know the winners of the Awards

National Hockey League


This week we will know the winners of the main individual trophies of the season. As a reminder, a Swiss is one of the nominees, namely the captain of the Predators Roman Josi, in the race for the James Norris Trophy and the Ted Lindsay Award.

Hart Memorial Trophy
The three son finalistsat Auston Matthews, Connor McDavid and Igor Shesterkin. Matthews wants to become first Toronto player to win trophy in 67 years; McDavid wants to become the ninth player in NHL history to win the trophy at least three times; and Shesterkin wants to become the third team goalkeeper to win the trophy this century.

Vezina Trophy
The three finalists are Jacob Markstrom, Juuse Saros and Igor Shesterkin. Markstrom is aiming to become the second winner in Flames franchise history, after Miikka Kiprusoff (2005/06); Saros is looking to join Pekka Rinné (2017/18) as the second goaltender in Predators history to win the Vezina Trophy; and Shesterkin is looking to become the third Rangers goaltender to win the Vezina Trophy under current selection criteria (since 1981/82), after Henrik Lundqvist (2011/12) and Jean Vanbiesbrouck (1985/86).

James Norris Memorial Trophy
The three finalists are Victor Hedman, Romain Josi and Cale Makar. Hedman and Josi are both chasing their second Norris Trophy; and Makar, who is the fourth defenseman to be voted an NHL award finalist in each of his first three seasons and who won the Calder Trophy in his 2019/20 rookie campaign, is trying to become the first winner of the Norris Trophy in Avalanche/Nordiques history.

Calder Memorial Trophy
The three finalists are Michael Bunting, Moritz Seider and Trevor Zegras. Bunting is looking to become the 11th player in Maple Leafs history to win the Calder Trophy and only the second to do so in the NHL’s expansion era (since 1967-68), after Auston Matthews in 2016/17; Seider is looking to become the sixth player in Red Wings history to win the award and the first since Roger Crozier in 1964/65; and Zegras are looking to become the first Ducks player to win the award.

Ted Lindsay Award
The three finalists are Romain Josi, Auston Matthews and Connor McDavid. Josi seeks to follow Bobby Orr (1974/75) becoming only the second defender to receive the award; a runner-up for the second straight season, Matthews is looking to become the Maple Leafs’ first player and second American-born player (Patrick Kane in 2015/16) to receive the award; and McDavid hopes to join Mario Lemieux and Wayne Gretzky as the only players to receive the award four or more times.

Leave a Comment