NHL Awards – Auston Matthews twice rewarded, Igor Shesterkin wins the Vezina

It was the night off in the Stanley Cup final, but it was the NHL’s opportunity to announce the winners of the Hart, Calder, Norris, Vézina and Ted-Lindsay trophies.

Toronto Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews was the big winner of the evening by earning the title of most valuable player of the last season in addition to being named the league’s best player according to his pairs. These were his first trophies.

He has scored 60 goals in 73 games this season, a league high.

Matthews first won the Ted-Lindsay Award, designated as the league’s most valuable player according to players. He was preferred over Edmonton Oilers forward Connor McDavid, who had already won it three times in his career, and Roman Josi of the Nashville Predators.

McDavid, the NHL’s leading scorer with 123 points in 80 games, was also among the nominees for the Hart along with New York Rangers goaltender Igor Shesterkin.

Shesterkin unsurprisingly wins the Vézina

Shesterkin, however, won the Vezina Trophy, awarded to the goaltender but deemed the best in his position, according to the general managers of the National Hockey League.

Finalist for this honor for the first time in his career, Shesterkin is the third color bearer in Rangers history to be awarded this trophy, according to the selection criteria put in place in 1981-1982, after Henrik Lundqvist, in 2011-2012, and John Vanbiesbrouck, in 1985-1986.

Shesterkin emerged as a nearly unanimous choice, garnering 29 of 32 first-place votes. He placed second on the other three ballots, for a grand total of 154 points.

Jacob Markstrom of the Calgary Flames finished second in voting with 53 points, ahead of Juuse Saros (32 points) of the Nashville Predators.

Meanwhile, the other three first-place votes went to Frederik Andersen of the Carolina Hurricanes, Andrei Vasileviskiy of the Tampa Bay Lightning, and Ilya Sorokin of the New York Islanders. These three porters finished fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively.

Shesterkin led the NHL with a 2.07 goals-against-average and .935 save percentage, helping the Rangers (52-24-6) to 110 points, good for third in NHL history. the organization.

Shesterkin finished the season with a 36-13-4 record and six shutouts in 52 games.

Makar best defender

Cale Makar is having an extraordinary year. Currently in the Stanley Cup final with the Colorado Avalanche, he has also just been named the NHL’s best defenseman.

Makar has 28 goals and 58 assists in 77 games in 2021-22, only his fourth season in the NHL.

The 23-year-old has 26 points in 17 games since the start of the playoffs and he still has time to build his stats.

He was battling Nashville Predators veteran Roman Josi, who led all blue-line players with an incredible 96 points, including 23 goals and 73 assists in 80 games. The 32-year-old won his first Norris Trophy two years ago.

Tampa Bay Lightning defenseman Victor Hedman, winner of the Norris Trophy in 2018, has 20 goals and 65 assists in 82 games.

Seider Rookie of the Year, Caufield ranked 9th

Detroit Red Wings defenseman Moritz Seider was named rookie of the year, earning the Calder Trophy.

The one who played his first games in the NHL this season has amassed 7 goals and 43 assists in 82 games. That point total was only surpassed by two other defensemen drafted in the past 30 years, Quinn Hughes, with 53 points in 2019-20 with the Vancouver Canucks, and Vladimir Malakhov, with 52 points in 1992-93. with the New York Islanders.

The German was selected sixth overall in the 2019 NHL Draft by the Red Wings. He is the sixth player in the history of the organization to receive such an honor. He largely dominated the poll, accumulating 1,853 points, thanks among other things to 170 first-place votes.

Other finalists included 26-year-old Maple Leafs forward Michael Bunting, who was still considered a rookie this season, despite spending time with the Arizona Coyotes in each of the two seasons. previous ones. That experience may have helped him as Bunting led all rookies with 63 points in 79 games, including 23 goals and 40 assists.

Anaheim Ducks sophomore Trevor Zegras rounded out the top-3. The man who has made headlines several times this season by scoring Michigan-style goals from behind the net has featured 23 goals and 38 assists in 75 games.

Lucas Raymond, another Detroit Red Wings player, was fourth, while Montreal Canadiens forward Cole Caufield had 31 points, good for ninth.

Here are the other individual honors pursued in the NHL for the last campaign:

Mark Messier Leadership Trophy: Anze KopitarLos Angeles Kings
Jack Adams Trophy: Darryl SutterCalgary Flames
Bill Masterton Trophy: Carey AwardMontreal Canadiens
Selke Trophy: Patrice BergeronBoston Bruins
Lady Byng Trophy: Kyle ConnorWinnipeg Jets
King Clancy Trophy: PK Subban, New Jersey Devils
Willie O’Ree Award: Christmas Acton
Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award: Finalists are Julien BriseBois (Lightning), Joe Sakic (Avalanche) and Chris Drury (Rangers). The prize will be awarded on July 7.

Leave a Comment