NHL trophies: Hart and Ted-Lindsay double for Auston Matthews

It was therefore with arms full of the Hart and Ted-Lindsay trophies that Matthews left the Tampa reception hall where the ceremony took place. He was already the winner of the Maurice-Richard trophy for his production of 60 goals in 73 games.

The highlight of the event came with the announcement that Matthews had secured the vote from members of the media for the Hart Trophy ahead of three-time winner of that award Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers and Igor Shesterkin of the New York Rangers. York, already winner of the Vézina Trophy as the best goaltender.

Matthews got 119 1st place votes and 49 2nd place votes, for a total of 1630 points. McDavid scored 1111 points with, among other things, 29 1st place votes, while Shesterkin received 738 points.

I can’t lie, the feeling is really good […] It’s really specialsaid Matthews.

Still, he admitted that receiving the honor in Tampa, where the two-time defending champion Lightning and the Colorado Avalanche will face off in Game 4 of the Stanley Cup Final on Wednesday, raised concerns. bittersweet feelings.

There’s a little disarray, we wish we were still playinghe added.

Earlier, Matthews had gone up on the stage to pick up the Ted-Lindsay from the hands of Martin Lafleur, son of Guy, who died on April 22 of a long battle with lung cancer.

His 60 goals made Matthews a pretty obvious choice. In the ballot held among the players, he was preferred to McDavid and Roman Josi, of the Nashville Predators.

Matthews is only the third Maple Leafs player to win the Hart Trophy, and the first since Ted Kennedy, at the end of the 1954-55 season. He also became the very first player from the Toronto team to receive the Ted-Lindsay Trophy.

The Vezina in Shesterkin

Igor Shesterkin

Photo: Getty Images/Bruce Bennett

Igor Shesterkin won the Vezina Trophy, awarded to the goaltender, according to the general managers of the NHL.

Finalist for this honor for the first time, he is the third Rangers color bearer to receive this trophy, according to the selection criteria put in place in 1981-1982, after Henrik Lundqvist, in 2011-2012, and John Vanbiesbrouck, in 1985-1986.

The Russian led the NHL with a 2.07 goals-against average and a .935 save percentage. He helped the Rangers (52-24-6) to 110 points, the third tally in organizational history. He finished the season with a record of 36-13-4 and 6 shutouts in 52 games.

Shesterkin emerged as an almost unanimous choice, with 29 of 32 1st place votes. He placed 2nd on the other three ballots for a total of 154 points. Jacob Markstrom of the Calgary Flames finished second with 53 points, ahead of Jusse Saros (32 points) of the Nashville Predators.

Moritz Seider is the NHL Rookie of the Year.

Photo: Getty Images/Bruce Bennett

Seider wins the Calder

Detroit Red Wings defenseman Moritz Seider was awarded the Calder Trophy, the NHL’s top rookie, following a review by members of the Professional Hockey Journalists Association.

Seider is the sixth Red Wings player to receive such an honor. He largely dominated the ballot with 1,853 points, due in particular to his 170 first-place votes. Trevor Zegras (1,191 points) of the Anaheim Ducks and Michael Bunting (877 points) of the Maple Leafs completed the podium.

Lucas Raymond, another Red Wings color bearer, ranked 4th, while Montreal Canadiens forward Cole Caufield had 31 points. This earned him 9th place.

Seider played in all 82 games for the Red Wings and scored 50 points, including 7 goals. That point total was only surpassed by two other defensemen drafted in the past 30 years, Quinn Hughes, with 53 points in 2019-20 with the Vancouver Canucks, and Vladimir Malakhov, with 52 points in 1992-93. with the New York Islanders.

The Norris in Makar

Cale Makar is the best defender (Norris trophy).

Photo: Getty Images/Bruce Bennett

Cale Makar of the Colorado Avalanche won the Norris Trophy as the best defenseman of the past season.

He led the league among defensemen with 28 goals in addition to finishing 2nd in points (86) behind Josi, himself a finalist, alongside Victor Hedman of the Lightning.

Alberta also posted a differential of +48. He amassed 52 points at even strength and 34 on the power play, in addition to scoring 6 game-winning goals.

Second in voting last year, Makar helped lead the Avalanche (56-19-7) to the best record in the Western Conference. He is the first player of this franchise to get his hands on this award.

Finally, the NHL announced that Julien BriseBois, of the Lightning, Chris Drury, of the Rangers, and Joe Sakic, of the Avalanche, were the finalists for the Jim-Gregory trophy, given to the general manager of the year.

BriseBois is a finalist for the second time. He was ranked 2nd in the 2019-2020 season. Drury, appointed Rangers general manager in May 2021, will obviously be a finalist for the first time, as will Sakic.

The winner will be announced during the draft, July 7 and 8, in Montreal.

Leave a Comment