The Pumas Matias Moroni and Juan Imhoff holders against South Africa

Center Matias Moroni and winger Juan Imhoff are the only two changes to Argentina’s starting XV, which face South Africa on Saturday in Durban on behalf of the sixth and final day of the Rugby Championship.

Winners of the Pumas (36-20) on the previous day in Buenos Aires, the Springboks, second on equal points (14) with the All Blacks, are still in the race to win the Rugby Championship, for the first time since 2019.

Argentina, which remains on two consecutive defeats in the flagship competition of the southern hemisphere, occupies the last place in the standings, with nine points.

Australia coach Michael Cheika also made three changes to the bench from last Saturday’s squad: prop Mayco Vivas, second row Pedro Rubiolo and winger Bautista Delguy replace Thomas Gallo, Rodrigo Bruni and Moroni.

Last week, “the Springboks silenced our public and it was hard to bear,” Cheika said at a press conference. “Now we want to turn the situation to our advantage and beat the world champions in front of their supporters”.

Argentina squad roster vs South Africa:

Mallia – Boffelli, Moroni, de la Fuente, Imhoff – (o) Carreras, (m) Bertranou – Kremer, Matera, Gonzalez – Lavanini, Alemanno – Bello, Montoya (cap.), Tetaz Chaparro

Subs: Creevy, Vivas, Sclavi, Petti, Rubiolo, Cubelli, Urdapilleta, Delguy

Coach: Michael Cheika (AUS)


Leave a Comment